Mai Mila

Tujhme mera mai mila
Mujhme tera shai..
Jab mujhme mai na raha
Na tu rahe, na mai

Translation:

To you, I surrendered my self
From you, I got strength
When I lost the ‘I’ of myself
The difference between us dissolves

Literal Translation:

In you was mixed my ‘me’
In me was (mixed) your push
When in me, there was no longer ‘me’
Neither you remain, nor me

(This follows a long tradition of verses in the same metre, meaning. Hopefully, it adds another shade, another verse to the collection)

More verses:

Mujhko jab mai mila
Main poochha tu kaun
Mai bola main tu, tu main
Mile to ek samaan
(Jaise Teer Kamaan)

Ek lagein hain donon sabko
Par main to hatke boloon
Tu jab dekhke jag ka khela
Main akad akad ke doloon
(Tere dil ki baat main boloon)

Mujhmi hi tu basta hai, main,
Mere bin tu kaun
Ude chala jaata hai kaise
Main ki bandhi lagaam
(to hi aaye kuchh kaam)

Main ke bal be chalta hai tu
Mere bina hai sirf viraam
Donon saiyaam sang se tolein
Paayein sahi mukaam
(Aur milein kuchh chain-o-araam)

Translated:

Mujhko jab mai mila
Main poochha tu kaun
Mai bola main tu, tu main
Mile to ek samaan
(Jaise Teer Kamaan)
When I met my self(ego)
My ego asked – who are you?
I said – I am you, you me
When we meet, we are the same(equal)
(Like a bow and arrow)

Ek lagein hain donon sabko
Par main to hatke boloon
Tu jab dekhke jag ka khela
Main akad akad ke doloon
(Tere dil ki baat main boloon)
We look the same to all around
But I speak differently from you
When you merely watch the world play you
I strut straight and tall
(I speak up for your heart)

Mujhmi hi tu basta hai, main,
Mere bin tu kaun
Ude chala jaata hai kaise
Main ki bandhi lagaam
(to hi aaye kuchh kaam)
You live within me, ‘I’
Who are you without me?
How can you fly high so
I have you in harness
(And that’s when you are some use)

Main ke bal be chalta hai tu
Mere bina hai sirf viraam
Donon saiyaam sang se tolein
Paayein sahi mukaam
(Aur milein kuchh chain-o-araam)
You survive because of me, your ego
Without me you are but a pause
Together and with restraint,
We will find the right destination
(And will find some peace)

